opennethome feel people!

Functionality and usage of the OpenNethome Server
stefangsbb
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by stefangsbb »

Well, since iPhones does not seem to answer ping, it does not seem to be much idea pursuing this line further... If you want to experiment with the Items and add functions, they are available on GitHub as usual, https://github.com/NetHome/NetHomeServe ... anner.java for the scanner and https://github.com/NetHome/NetHomeServe ... evice.java for the MacDevice. You can add features and compile them as separate plugins.

I actually had another idea which might work. What if NetHome acted as a fake mail server (a POP-server). The phone could have this account configured with a local ip address, so it would only find it when the phone is connected to the local network. Then the phone would periodically connect to the POP server to check for mails, and NetHome could see this an know that the phone is connected to the local network! The fake POP server would just always report that there are no mails. What do you think?
Nasty76
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:20 am

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Nasty76 »

Yeah We need find some generetic regonize system for this , I have test more and sometimes lumias not answer ping too , so that email based see universal idea , idk how much that eat battery if emails check example every 10 minutes or something , I try look some solution how we get info when wlan connection drop and come live then we have real knowledge what happened , but that look hard :(, I have some idea if router can configure somehow report wlan devices. One idea which I think how about to make one raspberry pi as phone wlan bridge , I think this system can report directly nethome when phone come and left?
OFC this cost some extra cash but not so expensive to get home know if u are home :P
or how about pi has usb Bluetooth dongle and phone has Bluetooth activate ?
not sure can that be use phone hide mode if you has pairing once to device. that work for sure if phone is allways in discover mode which if bad choice.
Nasty76
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:20 am

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Nasty76 »

I have look my modem and see remote log feature. Dont know how many wlan stations use remote log but if there can be sent clients join disconnect log to remote server then nethome can parse log file and get what wanted!.
i today debug that remote log to see what there can be get. Or snmp client connection telewell vdsl modem support that too.
We need look that if that is supported all new wlan routers.
i found intresting info http://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1713
Nasty76
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:20 am

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Nasty76 »

Okey I look remote log file which I get modem there is dhcp data via ip.

Code: Select all

Jan  7 22:31:08 192.168.1.1 syslog: dhcpd:sending OFFER of 192.168.1.7
Jan  7 22:31:08 192.168.1.1 syslog: dhcpd:sending ACK to 192.168.1.7
Jan  7 22:31:48 192.168.1.1 kernel: klogd: exiting
Jan  7 22:32:17 192.168.1.1 syslog: dhcpd:sending ACK to 192.168.1.7
Jan  7 22:33:40 192.168.1.1 kernel: klogd: exiting
but still I think mac data not show up in remote log file :(
there we see my modem offer ip to phone and when shutdown wlan ack message show up.
my modem has telnet possible which suite good but nót know how universal is telnet connection to router , my modem type is telewell ea510
there I can get data like this

Code: Select all

 arp show

IP address       HW type     Flags       HW address            Mask     Device
192.168.1.23     0x1         0x2         88:44:f6:58:82:0c     *        br0
91.158.160.1     0x1         0x2         00:00:5e:00:01:0a     *        ptm0.1
192.168.1.251    0x1         0x2         b8:27:eb:6b:ba:ed     *        br0
192.168.1.220    0x1         0x2         00:0c:29:d8:ab:41     *        br0
192.168.1.240    0x1         0x2         00:0c:29:b1:8f:af     *        br0
192.168.1.241    0x1         0x2         00:0c:29:84:87:28     *        br0
192.168.1.7      0x1         0x2         78:92:3e:8a:93:24     *        br0
192.168.1.5      0x1         0x2         00:19:66:f2:87:84     *        br0
192.168.1.2      0x1         0x2         48:5a:3f:5e:13:36     *        br0
192.168.1.231    0x1         0x2         00:0c:29:66:fb:34     *        br0
192.168.1.11     0x1         0x2         5c:0a:5b:94:51:11     *        br0
192.168.1.8      0x1         0x2         00:13:e8:d6:ec:83     *        br0
of course there need to be login as modem admin account.
ok more debug snmp is good way imo if modem support that I get some generic mb program which scan snmp variables modem and I see like this info.

Code: Select all

.1.3.6.1.2.1.17.7.1.2.2.1.1.14
48 5a 3f 5e 13 36
.1.3.6.1.2.1.17.7.1.2.2.1.1.15
58 b0 35 16 66 1d
.1.3.6.1.2.1.17.7.1.2.2.1.1.16
5c 0a 5b 94 51 11
.1.3.6.1.2.1.17.7.1.2.2.1.1.17
78 92 3e 8a 93 24
.1.3.6.1.2.1.17.7.1.2.2.1.1.18
88 44 f6 58 82 0c
this data contain my phone mac address.
stefangsbb
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by stefangsbb »

Well, I guess it would be possible to write a HomeItem that connects to that particular modem and checks for connected phones. The problem is that it would only work for users with exactly that modem, so it feels a bit to narrow for me to spend the time to write that Item, (especially since I don't have that modem...).

I wrote the Items for arp-scan since I hoped that was an easy way to get a completely generic function, but since that does not seem to work I think I will abandon this feature for now, until we find some more generic way of doing this (that does not involve too much work...).
Nasty76
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:20 am

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Nasty76 »

Yeah I know what u mean , like I say I don't know if that snmp protoc was supported all new wlan stations and if there is datatable allways same place , if not that's not so general plugin then , not sure how many was intrest this feature so I think I can make plugin my self to use snmp or telnet. but yeah if you come mind some generic way that good too.
Ps. what u think do you wanna host some nice place where people can share nethome plugins?
PPS. If I understand right that snmp protocol is GENERIC but like I say I don't know if there is some specs where u find data or is that depend modem where u get correct data. I try figure still how that snmp work.
User avatar
Silvereagle
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:21 pm

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Silvereagle »

Maybe there is away via TR-064 protocol.

AVM describes the API and the usage on http://avm.de/service/schnittstellen.
This should be supported by all DSL/WLAN routers and is based on UPNP.
There is a java library avaliable on https://github.com/hendrikw01/tr-064.
By this it should be possible to read out all connected devices.
stefangsbb
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by stefangsbb »

@Nasty76 - I am happy to host any plugins for NetHome on the NetHome GitHub site (https://github.com/NetHome). Just send me a mail, and I can help you to set it up.
Nasty76
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:20 am

Re: opennethome feel people!

Post by Nasty76 »

I get universal good idea get status of phones in wlan :D not take any battery on phone. I look my modem there is arp page , I think all modems keep some page where is device so we can log direct to modem like this http://modemusername:modempassword@192. ... rpview.cmd
that address that autologin modem page arpview.cmd and show my devices which are network. what u guys think look if this work yours modem so maybe we can make this work via nethome..
Post Reply